R-APC Defection To PDP Imminent As Saraki, Ortom, Wike, Others Meet


By ‘Dotun Akintomide 

Barring any U-turn in strategy, members of the Reformed All Progressives Congress, R-APC are likely to officially announce their defection from the ruling party, APC and join the Peoples Democratic Party in a month’s time, The New Diplomat has learnt.

Sources familiar with the meeting of the R-APC and PDP members in Ilorin Wednesday, disclosed that the defection of the Reformed APC members is expected to happen in less than a month.

Also one of the insiders said “the politicians were almost against time since the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had scheduled the conduct of Presidential and National Assembly Primary Elections to begin on August 18, 2018.”

This follows as Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Chairman, Prince Uche Secondus and some All Progressives Congress (APC) and PDP Governors met in Ilorin on Wednesday.

Though Kwara Governor, Abdulfatah Ahmed said the political heavyweights met to attend the burial rites of Kawu Baraje’s mother, albeit a source hinted that part of what formed the agenda for discussion was the planned defection of some APC members to PDP.

“Also, the defection of aggrieved members of the APC to the PDP was discussed,” he said.

Gov. Ahmed who spoke through his media aide, Dr Muyideen Akorede said “While I have not been briefed on any planned defection, I am aware that my principal and other political leaders in the state are gradually being shown the way out of the APC.”

Speaking further on the meeting, Governor Ahmed said he is yet to take a decision on his political future with the APC, whereas Governor Ortom had on Monday announced that he is no longer with the ruling APC.

Ortom made the declaration at the banquet hall of the Government House in Makurdi, the state capital.

At the meeting in Ilorin, were Benue Governor Samuel Ortom, Sokoto Governor, Aminu Tambuwal and Rivers Governor, Nyesom Wike.

Others were ex-Governor Sule Lamido of Jigawa, Senator Lawal Shuaibu, Senator Barnabas Gemade among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here